Wilmington House - Ayr Backpackers

Description

Map

(Location is approximate. You may need to pan/move to find "Wilmington House - Ayr Backpackers" at 54 Wilmington Street.)

Location/Contact

Address
54 Wilmington Street, Ayr, Queensland, Australia
Coordinates
-19.570162, 147.406066 (accuracy not guaranteed)
Location
Website
ayrbackpackers.com.au
Telephone
+61 (7) 4783-5837
Fax
+61 (7) 4783-1668
To add or correct information for this listing, please use the Listing Correction Form.

How is Wilmington House - Ayr Backpackers rated on other websites?

Hostelworld
Not listed on Hostelworld.
HostelBookers
Not listed on HostelBookers.
HostelsClub
Not listed on HostelsClub.

Hostelz.com Guest Reviews

 
Avoid! What a joke of a place. Rip off!
Avoid this place by any means, they rip your deposit off ($200) for any reason, they owners are very rude. They let people sleep in the same bed together and still charge them a weekly rate each. The dorms are more than 25 people in one room, no Air-conditions, lights out by 10, felt like in a prison an still paying $160 rent, they lie about their farm work, tell you they have work and you still sit around and waiting for weeks. i met a lot of people with the same issues. What a disgrace of a place. I stayed there for 3 weeks last year and all that happened to me. Thanks Mick and Marleene ... for nothing but a bad experience. Unfortunately i have to give them 1 star -- if there were 0 I would.

Response from the accommodation: Hi Jack, thanks for the review. We do charge a Security Deposit of $200 as do all working Hostels as unfortunately some people damage the Hostel and we use that money to perform the repairs needed. No one at this Hostel is ever allowed to sleep in the same bed under any circumstances but as you know some people do sneak in with other late at night with out us knowing. The maximum size dorm bed in the Hostel is 8 people as you know. The obvious reason for having no noise after 10 pm is that most people have to get up at 5 am to go to work and need to sleep. Every one else does appreciate this. Our Hostel may not always be suitable to people who want to sit up late every night and party instead of getting a good night sleep for work the next day. Also once you have been fired a couple of times for not completed the set tasks given to you by the farmer it does get harder for us to find you jobs. We are sorry that farm work was not for you and wish you all the best for the future. Ayr Backpackers Team.
Jack
Age 22, UK
2016-04-05
 
Great to meet people, crap for work!
This is not a poor review, simply an informative one to warn people. After a few friendly conversations over the phone we decided to move to Ayr as there was pretty much full time work for girls and they could provide us lads 2/3 days a week. We were told we would have to wait 1 week for full time work. They also forgot to mention that you have to pay $10 per day for transport to the farms even if they are just down the road you cannot walk! That's $210 p/w when you finally get full time work. After you've paid your first weeks rent, $200 bond they mention you need to rent cooking equipment. $2 charge for every item you lose or leave out overnight. From the start we realised it was going to be somewhere that tries to make every dollar where possible. You sign a form with endless rules which the majority are completely acceptable however charging backpackers $1 for forms you need to get farmers to sign, lights off at 10pm and no noise otherwise you lose your bond. Mick and Marleen are really friendly and always put on a smile, but it seems fun is not wanted at this hostel especially on weekends. For a hostel that can accommodate 120 backpackers you are not allowed to move benches so everyone can sit together during a weekend barbecue due to "too many people in one place causes issues". After almost 3 weeks at the hostel I was only given 2 days work. The dreaded list seems to have no method as to who gets work as people who had arrived weeks after me seemed to be given FT work. After speaking with several locals and farmers out in the town they all laughed at to why I chose Ayr for farm work as there is minimal amounts of work especially at this time of year. They will tell you the season is just around the corner but they told the people who arrived in January the season is due to kick off in February. Obviously they are running a business and need to fill beds to keep them afloat but a bit of honesty to inform backpackers that there isn't much work would give them a better reputation. There are really good facilities, nice and clean, with the opportunity to make some real good friends. However, not enough local work, $10 per day transport fee, no fun allowed, if you dont like rules you probably wouldn't like it. If you are desperate to get your days completed I wouldn't recommend this place. If you want to earn some money to extend your travels I wouldn't recommend this place. If you want to make some friends and bum around all day then this is the place for you!!

Response from the accommodation: Hi Chris, as you are aware we offered you employment on the Cha Cha farm as the farmer asked us to find 8 people for full time work. Unfortunately as you know the farmer cancelled this job the day before it started. As we said we are very sorry for the inconvenience but it was completely out of our hands. We did however do everything possible to find you another job but you did not give us any time to achieve this. Although it was not the main season we do have several summer time farms that people on the street would not know about. There is a $200 security deposit taken that is used only when people damage the Hostel and a small fee when you travel on the bus the same as all working Hostels in the country. There is no charge at all for cooking equipment as you suggested. If we print forms for you we charge 50 cents which is standard or you can obtain your own. "Lights off at 10 or you loose your Bond" is completely untrue as you know. We do not allow for large heavy out door furniture to moved as it gets damaged and needs to be replaced. Not sure why that upset you. As you know we received some out of season heavy rain that delayed the farms by a week or 2 then every person in the Hostel received full time work but you left too soon. We are sorry that you were so unhappy that you could not move furniture and that you did not understand the reasons behind it. Also we are sorry that farm work did not work out for you and we wish you all the best for the future. Ayr Backpackers Team.
Anonymous
Age 23, UK
2016-03-20
 
Horrible -- do not stay here!!!
Me and my mate came to Ayr and booked at this hostel from cairns, super strapped for cash. When arriving The owner and receptionist told us they had overbooked and that we could not stay there. she offered us Absolutely nothing for the inconvenience. We asked if we could share the one bed Available she said no. We asked for a mere ride to the next hostel because we had just walked our luggage 20 minutes in the blazing heat and again she said no. She was very rude and also made snide comments saying that another place would be "more our fit" whatever that means. This is just bad business. We were also told a price higher than was promised on phone when we initially got there before she realized she had overbooked. Extremely rude. Too many rules. Do not stay here!

Response from the accommodation: Hi Girls, thanks for the response. We decided to turn you away and sent you to a different Hostel because you were not happy with any of our basic Hostel rules when we were explaining them to you before check in. Unfortunately as we explained to you on the day if you do not agree with the Hostel rules then you can not stay in our Hostel for the good of everyone else in the Hostel who is enjoying themselves. We ensured that the other Hostel had beds before we sent you there. As we are a working Hostel we have to have a few basic rules as people are getting up very early in the morning for work. Also the bus station is less than 5 minutes walk from the bus station where you came from. We understand that is not always possible to please 100% of people and we are sorry that we did not suit you on this occasion. Mick.
Carley
Age 24, Canada
2015-08-21
 
Great place
I stayed there a few years ago and had an amazing time. It's a hostel!!! Not a bloody 5***** hotel. If you're a backpacker, don't expect five star accommodation.I found the owners great and fun, met lots of great people too. I think the level was standard for most good hostels and totally fine.
Owen
Age 38, Irish
2015-04-10
 
The hostel just changed host
The host throw away your stuff without notice even though you stay there. If you want to take back, you will find it in rubbish or never come back. I live there with another person and we put our bed on the floor. Marleen came when we were not at home and took mattress that we put it on the floor away!! That ridiculous and unbelievable! There is no respect for backpackers. If you argue with them, they will threaten you to call police and ask you to leave hostel even though they are fault.

Response from the accommodation: Hi Nick, thanks you for your many reviews. As you know the Hostel did not recently change host. Also as you know you snuck and extra bed into the Hostel which we removed as it is illegal and a fire risk. We are sorry as we have said before that this was not common sense. Also as you know we did not ever at any time threaten to call the police. We are once again sorry that farm work was not for you and wish you all the best for the future. Ayr Backpackers Team.
emma
Age 21, Germany
2014-12-30
 
Fun
fun place to stay. plenty of work and drunken nights. great pubs, not far from shops. could use a few more bathrooms, fridges, and showers. other than that, a great place to stay for work and fun. lock up yours clothes -- mine and a mates were stolen.
damien
(australian)
2012-11-11
 
Too many rules!
It's like being a teenagers again. There is too many rules for everything and you should expect to loose some clothes because even if you work and your clothes go on the ground, the maid took them and put in a big box. I stayed there almost 3 months. First, when we called to book beds, they said they don t take booking. This is not true but we were french and they didn t want us to come there. When we arrived, they explained that the job was really really hard and it would be better for us to go find something else. We stayed because i didn t have so many time to do my farm job. It s like the guy doesn t like young people, i wonder why he s doing such a job then and the wife, well ... too much smiles, sometimes it s strange. The guy always screamed after 10pm, saying "f....!!" It s not a way to behave with people who pay for a service. i didn t really care at the moment, i was just there to work and get out as fast as possible.

Response from the accommodation: Hi and thanks for the review. The Hostel has changed ownership since this time. Ayr Backpackers Team.
Anonymous
2012-04-28
 
The place to be
The Wilmington House is where Ayr Backpackers is located, in the middle of a quiet neighbourhood surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. The hostel is often crammed, the kitchen is full of flies, there are just two showers for thirty beds, three toilets also for thirty beds, merciless mosquitos all over the place, and backbreaking jobs are available. TV room #1 has two channels and computers in it, TV room #2 is obsolete with pool table in it and mosquitos. Internet is available (two computers) and hardly convenient or cheap. Donna and Clint own the place and can help you, as long as you respect their privacy and don't hassle them too much, especially out of their office hours. The maid rinses the place every morning and you better be sleeping or being out of her sight for your own safety. There are some vans they let you use to go to work ($7 a day). If you sleep in, you lose the job and they put you on a list of people. The job is hard to say the best, but in a week or two your back is shaped like a U, as required. There are two major employers and other small farms in the area. The wage is $16-17 per hour. Sometimes, the employers forget some hours you worked or squeeze them according to their needs. At the end of the season, they told all the people I was working with not to show up the next day, 'cause the price was rock bottom. They called me for one last day of work, helping them to move stuff, but I'm pretty sure they forgot to pay me. Ayr is a 9,000-person town with a vibrant life.
Claudio Martinelli
(Italy)
2009-03-31

More reviews...


Rate Wilmington House - Ayr Backpackers

Have you stayed at this accommodation? Please submit your rating and review.